Commit 4d839dd9 authored by Peter Zijlstra's avatar Peter Zijlstra Committed by Ingo Molnar
Browse files

perf/ring-buffer: Always use {READ,WRITE}_ONCE() for rb->user_page data



We must use {READ,WRITE}_ONCE() on rb->user_page data such that
concurrent usage will see whole values. A few key sites were missing
this.
Suggested-by: default avatarYabin Cui <yabinc@google.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Cc: acme@kernel.org
Cc: mark.rutland@arm.com
Cc: namhyung@kernel.org
Fixes: 7b732a75 ("perf_counter: new output ABI - part 1")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190517115418.394192145@infradead.org

Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 3f9fbe9b
......@@ -100,7 +100,7 @@ static void perf_output_put_handle(struct perf_output_handle *handle)
* See perf_output_begin().
*/
smp_wmb(); /* B, matches C */
rb->user_page->data_head = head;
WRITE_ONCE(rb->user_page->data_head, head);
/*
* We must publish the head before decrementing the nest count,
......@@ -496,7 +496,7 @@ void perf_aux_output_end(struct perf_output_handle *handle, unsigned long size)
perf_event_aux_event(handle->event, aux_head, size,
handle->aux_flags);
rb->user_page->aux_head = rb->aux_head;
WRITE_ONCE(rb->user_page->aux_head, rb->aux_head);
if (rb_need_aux_wakeup(rb))
wakeup = true;
......@@ -528,7 +528,7 @@ int perf_aux_output_skip(struct perf_output_handle *handle, unsigned long size)
rb->aux_head += size;
rb->user_page->aux_head = rb->aux_head;
WRITE_ONCE(rb->user_page->aux_head, rb->aux_head);
if (rb_need_aux_wakeup(rb)) {
perf_output_wakeup(handle);
handle->wakeup = rb->aux_wakeup + rb->aux_watermark;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment