1. 28 Mar, 2012 1 commit
  2. 08 Dec, 2011 2 commits
  3. 06 Dec, 2011 1 commit
  4. 17 Oct, 2011 1 commit
  5. 19 Jul, 2011 1 commit
  6. 02 Jul, 2011 1 commit
  7. 01 Jul, 2011 1 commit
    • Peter Zijlstra's avatar
      perf: Remove the nmi parameter from the swevent and overflow interface · a8b0ca17
      Peter Zijlstra authored
      
      
      The nmi parameter indicated if we could do wakeups from the current
      context, if not, we would set some state and self-IPI and let the
      resulting interrupt do the wakeup.
      
      For the various event classes:
      
        - hardware: nmi=0; PMI is in fact an NMI or we run irq_work_run from
          the PMI-tail (ARM etc.)
        - tracepoint: nmi=0; since tracepoint could be from NMI context.
        - software: nmi=[0,1]; some, like the schedule thing cannot
          perform wakeups, and hence need 0.
      
      As one can see, there is very little nmi=1 usage, and the down-side of
      not using it is that on some platforms some software events can have a
      jiffy delay in wakeup (when arch_irq_work_raise isn't implemented).
      
      The up-side however is that we can remove the nmi parameter and save a
      bunch of conditionals in fast paths.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
      Cc: Michael Cree <mcree@orcon.net.nz>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Deng-Cheng Zhu <dengcheng.zhu@gmail.com>
      Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
      Cc: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
      Cc: Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com>
      Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-agjev8eu666tvknpb3iaj0fg@git.kernel.org
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      a8b0ca17
  8. 21 Feb, 2011 1 commit
  9. 15 Feb, 2011 1 commit
  10. 22 Dec, 2010 1 commit
    • Russell King's avatar
      ARM: pgtable: switch order of Linux vs hardware page tables · d30e45ee
      Russell King authored
      
      
      This switches the ordering of the Linux vs hardware page tables in
      each page, thereby eliminating some of the arithmetic in the page
      table walks.  As we now place the Linux page table at the beginning
      of the page, we can deal with the offset in the pgt by simply masking
      it away, along with the other control bits.
      
      This also makes the arithmetic all be positive, rather than a mixture.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
      d30e45ee
  11. 08 Sep, 2010 1 commit
  12. 27 Jul, 2010 5 commits
  13. 08 Jun, 2010 1 commit
  14. 15 May, 2010 1 commit
  15. 12 Feb, 2010 1 commit
  16. 05 Oct, 2009 1 commit
    • Imre Deak's avatar
      ARM: 5742/1: ARM: add debug check for invalid kernel page faults · 1d212712
      Imre Deak authored
      
      
      According to the following in arch/arm/mm/fault.c page faults from
      kernel mode are invalid if mmap_sem is already held and there is
      no exception handler defined for the faulting instruction:
      
      /*
       * As per x86, we may deadlock here.  However, since the kernel only
       * validly references user space from well defined areas of the code,
       * we can bug out early if this is from code which shouldn't.
       */
      if (!down_read_trylock(&mm->mmap_sem)) {
      	if (!user_mode(regs) && !search_exception_tables(regs->ARM_pc))
      		goto no_context;
      
      Since mmap_sem can be held at arbitrary times by another thread this
      also means that any page faults from kernel mode are invalid if no
      exception handler is defined for them, regardless whether mmap_sem is
      held at the time of fault.
      
      To easier detect code that can trigger the above error, add a check
      also for the case where mmap_sem is acquired. As this has an overhead
      make it a VM debug check.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarImre Deak <imre.deak@nokia.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
      1d212712
  17. 02 Oct, 2009 2 commits
    • Kirill A. Shutemov's avatar
      ARM: 5728/1: Proper prefetch abort handling on ARMv6 and ARMv7 · d25ef8b8
      Kirill A. Shutemov authored
      
      
      Currently, on ARMv6 and ARMv7, if an application tries to execute
      code (or garbage) on non-executable page it hangs. It caused by
      incorrect prefetch abort handling. Now every prefetch abort
      processes as a translation fault.
      
      To fix this we have to analyze instruction fault status register
      to figure out reason why we've got the abort and process it
      accordingly.
      
      To make IFSR different from DFSR we set bit 31 which is reserved in
      both IFSR and DFSR.
      
      This patch also tries to protect from future hangs on unexpected
      exceptions. An application will be killed if unexpected exception
      type was received.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
      d25ef8b8
    • Kirill A. Shutemov's avatar
      ARM: 5727/1: Pass IFSR register to do_PrefetchAbort() · 4fb28474
      Kirill A. Shutemov authored
      
      
      Instruction fault status register, IFSR, was introduced on ARMv6 to
      provide status information about the last insturction fault. It
      needed for proper prefetch abort handling.
      
      Now we have three prefetch abort model:
      
        * legacy - for CPUs before ARMv6. They doesn't provide neither
          IFSR nor IFAR. We simulate IFSR with section translation fault
          status for them to generalize code;
        * ARMv6 - provides IFSR, but not IFAR;
        * ARMv7 - provides both IFSR and IFAR.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
      4fb28474
  18. 20 Sep, 2009 5 commits
  19. 17 Aug, 2009 1 commit
  20. 24 Jul, 2009 2 commits
  21. 21 Jun, 2009 1 commit
  22. 15 Dec, 2008 1 commit
  23. 28 Nov, 2008 1 commit
  24. 30 Sep, 2008 1 commit
  25. 06 Sep, 2008 1 commit
  26. 26 Jan, 2008 2 commits
  27. 19 Oct, 2007 1 commit
    • Serge E. Hallyn's avatar
      pid namespaces: define is_global_init() and is_container_init() · b460cbc5
      Serge E. Hallyn authored
      
      
      is_init() is an ambiguous name for the pid==1 check.  Split it into
      is_global_init() and is_container_init().
      
      A cgroup init has it's tsk->pid == 1.
      
      A global init also has it's tsk->pid == 1 and it's active pid namespace
      is the init_pid_ns.  But rather than check the active pid namespace,
      compare the task structure with 'init_pid_ns.child_reaper', which is
      initialized during boot to the /sbin/init process and never changes.
      
      Changelog:
      
      	2.6.22-rc4-mm2-pidns1:
      	- Use 'init_pid_ns.child_reaper' to determine if a given task is the
      	  global init (/sbin/init) process. This would improve performance
      	  and remove dependence on the task_pid().
      
      	2.6.21-mm2-pidns2:
      
      	- [Sukadev Bhattiprolu] Changed is_container_init() calls in {powerpc,
      	  ppc,avr32}/traps.c for the _exception() call to is_global_init().
      	  This way, we kill only the cgroup if the cgroup's init has a
      	  bug rather than force a kernel panic.
      
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix comment]
      [sukadev@us.ibm.com: Use is_global_init() in arch/m32r/mm/fault.c]
      [bunk@stusta.de: kernel/pid.c: remove unused exports]
      [sukadev@us.ibm.com: Fix capability.c to work with threaded init]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSerge E. Hallyn <serue@us.ibm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@us.ibm.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarPavel Emelianov <xemul@openvz.org>
      Cc: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
      Cc: Cedric Le Goater <clg@fr.ibm.com>
      Cc: Dave Hansen <haveblue@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: Herbert Poetzel <herbert@13thfloor.at>
      Cc: Kirill Korotaev <dev@sw.ru>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      b460cbc5
  28. 16 Oct, 2007 1 commit
    • Will Schmidt's avatar
      During VM oom condition, kill all threads in process group · dcca2bde
      Will Schmidt authored
      
      
      We have had complaints where a threaded application is left in a bad state
      after one of it's threads is killed when we hit a VM: out_of_memory
      condition.
      
      Killing just one of the process threads can leave the application in a bad
      state, whereas killing the entire process group would allow for the
      application to restart, or be otherwise handled, and makes it very obvious
      that something has gone wrong.
      
      This change allows the entire process group to be taken down, rather
      than just the one thread.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Schmidt <will_schmidt@vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
      Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@debian.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp>
      Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk>
      Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      dcca2bde