1. 08 Aug, 2016 1 commit
  2. 07 Aug, 2016 1 commit
    • Jens Axboe's avatar
      block: rename bio bi_rw to bi_opf · 1eff9d32
      Jens Axboe authored
      Since commit 63a4cc24
      
      , bio->bi_rw contains flags in the lower
      portion and the op code in the higher portions. This means that
      old code that relies on manually setting bi_rw is most likely
      going to be broken. Instead of letting that brokeness linger,
      rename the member, to force old and out-of-tree code to break
      at compile time instead of at runtime.
      
      No intended functional changes in this commit.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>
      1eff9d32
  3. 05 Aug, 2016 1 commit
  4. 04 Aug, 2016 4 commits
    • Jani Nikula's avatar
      DocBook: use DOCBOOKS="" to ignore DocBooks instead of IGNORE_DOCBOOKS=1 · bdf107d8
      Jani Nikula authored
      Instead of a separate ignore flag, use the obvious DOCBOOKS="" to ignore
      all DocBook files. This is also in line with the Sphinx build being
      ignored if a non-empty DOCBOOKS make variable is specified on the make
      command line.
      
      This replaces the IGNORE_DOCBOOKS introduced in
      
      commit 54721886
      Author: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@s-opensource.com>
      Date:   Sat Jul 9 13:12:45 2016 -0300
      
          doc-rst: add an option to ignore DocBooks when generating docs
      
      and aligns with
      
      commit 6387872c
      
      
      Author: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
      Date:   Fri Jul 1 15:24:44 2016 +0300
      
          Documentation/sphinx: skip build if user requested specific DOCBOOKS
      
      Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
      Tested-by: default avatarMauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@s-opensource.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
      bdf107d8
    • Krzysztof Kozlowski's avatar
      dma-mapping: use unsigned long for dma_attrs · 00085f1e
      Krzysztof Kozlowski authored
      The dma-mapping core and the implementations do not change the DMA
      attributes passed by pointer.  Thus the pointer can point to const data.
      However the attributes do not have to be a bitfield.  Instead unsigned
      long will do fine:
      
      1. This is just simpler.  Both in terms of reading the code and setting
         attributes.  Instead of initializing local attributes on the stack
         and passing pointer to it to dma_set_attr(), just set the bits.
      
      2. It brings safeness and checking for const correctness because the
         attributes are passed by value.
      
      Semantic patches for this change (at least most of them):
      
          virtual patch
          virtual context
      
          @r@
          identifier f, attrs;
      
          @@
          f(...,
          - struct dma_attrs *attrs
          + unsigned long attrs
          , ...)
          {
          ...
          }
      
          @@
          identifier r.f;
          @@
          f(...,
          - NULL
          + 0
           )
      
      and
      
          // Options: --all-includes
          virtual patch
          virtual context
      
          @r@
          identifier f, attrs;
          type t;
      
          @@
          t f(..., struct dma_attrs *attrs);
      
          @@
          identifier r.f;
          @@
          f(...,
          - NULL
          + 0
           )
      
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1468399300-5399-2-git-send-email-k.kozlowski@samsung.com
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKrzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarVineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarRobin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarHans-Christian Noren Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no>
      Acked-by: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> [c6x]
      Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> [cris]
      Acked-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> [drm]
      Reviewed-by: default avatarBart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@sandisk.com>
      Acked-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> [iommu]
      Acked-by: Fabien Dessenne <fabien.dessenne@st.com> [bdisp]
      Reviewed-by: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com> [vb2-core]
      Acked-by: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@citrix.com> [xen]
      Acked-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> [xen swiotlb]
      Acked-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> [iommu]
      Acked-by: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> [hexagon]
      Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> [m68k]
      Acked-by: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com> [s390]
      Acked-by: default avatarBjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
      Acked-by: Hans-Christian Noren Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> [avr32]
      Acked-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> [arc]
      Acked-by: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> [arm64 and dma-iommu]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      00085f1e
    • Paolo Bonzini's avatar
      KVM: documentation: fix KVM_CAP_X2APIC_API information · 055b6ae9
      Paolo Bonzini authored
      
      
      The KVM_X2APIC_API_USE_32BIT_IDS feature applies to both
      KVM_SET_GSI_ROUTING and KVM_SIGNAL_MSI, but was not mentioned in the
      documentation for the latter ioctl.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPaolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
      055b6ae9
    • Prarit Bhargava's avatar
      modules: Add kernel parameter to blacklist modules · be7de5f9
      Prarit Bhargava authored
      
      
      Blacklisting a module in linux has long been a problem.  The current
      procedure is to use rd.blacklist=module_name, however, that doesn't
      cover the case after the initramfs and before a boot prompt (where one
      is supposed to use /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf to blacklist
      runtime loading). Using rd.shell to get an early prompt is hit-or-miss,
      and doesn't cover all situations AFAICT.
      
      This patch adds this functionality of permanently blacklisting a module
      by its name via the kernel parameter module_blacklist=module_name.
      
      [v2]: Rusty, use core_param() instead of __setup() which simplifies
      things.
      
      [v3]: Rusty, undo wreckage from strsep()
      
      [v4]: Rusty, simpler version of blacklisted()
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPrarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
      Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
      Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
      Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
      be7de5f9
  5. 03 Aug, 2016 4 commits
  6. 02 Aug, 2016 8 commits
  7. 31 Jul, 2016 1 commit
  8. 29 Jul, 2016 2 commits
    • Steve Twiss's avatar
      documentation: da9052: Update regulator bindings names to match DA9052/53 DTS expectations · 099c0cbd
      Steve Twiss authored
      
      
      Buck and LDO binding name changes.
      
      The binding names for the regulators have been changed to match the current
      expectation from existing device tree source files.
      
      This fix rectifies the disparity between what currently exists in some
      .dts[i] board files and what is listed in this binding document. This
      change re-aligns those differences and also brings the binding document
      in-line with the expectations of the product datasheet from Dialog
      Semiconductor.
      
      Bucks and LDOs now follow the expected notation:
      { buck1, buck2, buck3, buck4 }
      { ldo1, ldo2, ldo3, ldo4, ldo5, ldo6, ldo7, ldo8, ldo9, ldo10 }
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSteve Twiss <stwiss.opensource@diasemi.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
      099c0cbd
    • Marek Szyprowski's avatar
      drm: add generic zpos property · 44d1240d
      Marek Szyprowski authored
      
      
      version 8:
      - move drm_blend.o from drm-y to drm_kms_helper-y to avoid
        EXPORT_SYMBOL(drm_atomic_helper_normalize_zpos)
      - remove dead function declarations in drm_crtc.h
      
      version 7:
      - remove useless EXPORT_SYMBOL()
      - better z-order wording in Documentation
      
      version 6:
      - add zpos in gpu documentation file
      - merge Ville patch about zpos initial value and API improvement.
        I have split Ville patch between zpos core and drivers
      
      version 5:
      - remove zpos range check and comeback to 0 to N-1
        normalization algorithm
      
      version 4:
      - make sure that normalized zpos value is stay
        in the defined property range and warn user if not
      
      This patch adds support for generic plane's zpos property property with
      well-defined semantics:
      - added zpos properties to plane and plane state structures
      - added helpers for normalizing zpos properties of given set of planes
      - well defined semantics: planes are sorted by zpos values and then plane
        id value if zpos equals
      
      Normalized zpos values are calculated automatically when generic
      muttable zpos property has been initialized. Drivers can simply use
      plane_state->normalized_zpos in their atomic_check and/or plane_update
      callbacks without any additional calls to DRM core.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarMarek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
      
      Compare to Marek's original patch zpos property is now specific to each
      plane and no more to the core.
      Normalize function take care of the range of per plane defined range
      before set normalized_zpos.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarBenjamin Gaignard <benjamin.gaignard@linaro.org>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarVille Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarLaurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
      Tested-by: default avatarLaurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
      
      Cc: Inki Dae <inki.dae@samsung.com>
      Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
      Cc: Ville Syrjala <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Joonyoung Shim <jy0922.shim@samsung.com>
      Cc: Seung-Woo Kim <sw0312.kim@samsung.com>
      Cc: Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>
      Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com>
      Cc: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>
      Cc: Tobias Jakobi <tjakobi@math.uni-bielefeld.de>
      Cc: Gustavo Padovan <gustavo@padovan.org>
      Cc: vincent.abriou@st.com
      Cc: fabien.dessenne@st.com
      Cc: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
      44d1240d
  9. 28 Jul, 2016 4 commits
  10. 27 Jul, 2016 1 commit
  11. 26 Jul, 2016 10 commits
  12. 25 Jul, 2016 3 commits