Commit cba4671a authored by Andy Lutomirski's avatar Andy Lutomirski Committed by Ingo Molnar
Browse files

x86/mm: Disable PCID on 32-bit kernels



32-bit kernels on new hardware will see PCID in CPUID, but PCID can
only be used in 64-bit mode.  Rather than making all PCID code
conditional, just disable the feature on 32-bit builds.
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: default avatarNadav Amit <nadav.amit@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarBorislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/2e391769192a4d31b808410c383c6bf0734bc6ea.1498751203.git.luto@kernel.org

Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 43858b4f
......@@ -21,11 +21,13 @@
# define DISABLE_K6_MTRR (1<<(X86_FEATURE_K6_MTRR & 31))
# define DISABLE_CYRIX_ARR (1<<(X86_FEATURE_CYRIX_ARR & 31))
# define DISABLE_CENTAUR_MCR (1<<(X86_FEATURE_CENTAUR_MCR & 31))
# define DISABLE_PCID 0
#else
# define DISABLE_VME 0
# define DISABLE_K6_MTRR 0
# define DISABLE_CYRIX_ARR 0
# define DISABLE_CENTAUR_MCR 0
# define DISABLE_PCID (1<<(X86_FEATURE_PCID & 31))
#endif /* CONFIG_X86_64 */
#ifdef CONFIG_X86_INTEL_MEMORY_PROTECTION_KEYS
......@@ -49,7 +51,7 @@
#define DISABLED_MASK1 0
#define DISABLED_MASK2 0
#define DISABLED_MASK3 (DISABLE_CYRIX_ARR|DISABLE_CENTAUR_MCR|DISABLE_K6_MTRR)
#define DISABLED_MASK4 0
#define DISABLED_MASK4 (DISABLE_PCID)
#define DISABLED_MASK5 0
#define DISABLED_MASK6 0
#define DISABLED_MASK7 0
......
......@@ -21,6 +21,14 @@
void __init check_bugs(void)
{
#ifdef CONFIG_X86_32
/*
* Regardless of whether PCID is enumerated, the SDM says
* that it can't be enabled in 32-bit mode.
*/
setup_clear_cpu_cap(X86_FEATURE_PCID);
#endif
identify_boot_cpu();
if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_SMP)) {
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment