• Eric Dumazet's avatar
    net: busy-poll: return busypolling status to drivers · 364b6055
    Eric Dumazet authored
    
    
    NAPI drivers use napi_complete_done() or napi_complete() when
    they drained RX ring and right before re-enabling device interrupts.
    
    In busy polling, we can avoid interrupts being delivered since
    we are polling RX ring in a controlled loop.
    
    Drivers can chose to use napi_complete_done() return value
    to reduce interrupts overhead while busy polling is active.
    
    This is optional, legacy drivers should work fine even
    if not updated.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarEric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
    Cc: Willem de Bruijn <willemb@google.com>
    Cc: Adam Belay <abelay@google.com>
    Cc: Tariq Toukan <tariqt@mellanox.com>
    Cc: Yuval Mintz <Yuval.Mintz@cavium.com>
    Cc: Ariel Elior <ariel.elior@cavium.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
    364b6055
dev.c 209 KB