• Frederic Weisbecker's avatar
    tracing/syscalls: use a dedicated file header · 47788c58
    Frederic Weisbecker authored
    
    
    Impact: fix build warnings and possibe compat misbehavior on IA64
    
    Building a kernel on ia64 might trigger these ugly build warnings:
    
    CC      arch/ia64/ia32/sys_ia32.o
    In file included from arch/ia64/ia32/sys_ia32.c:55:
    arch/ia64/ia32/ia32priv.h:290:1: warning: "elf_check_arch" redefined
    In file included from include/linux/elf.h:7,
                     from include/linux/module.h:14,
                     from include/linux/ftrace.h:8,
                     from include/linux/syscalls.h:68,
                     from arch/ia64/ia32/sys_ia32.c:18:
    arch/ia64/include/asm/elf.h:19:1: warning: this is the location of the previous definition
    [...]
    
    sys_ia32.c includes linux/syscalls.h which in turn includes linux/ftrace.h
    to import the syscalls tracing prototypes.
    
    But including ftrace.h can pull too much things for a low level file,
    especially on ia64 where the ia32 private headers conflict with higher
    level headers.
    
    Now we isolate the syscall tracing headers in their own lightweight file.
    Reported-by: default avatarTony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
    Tested-by: default avatarTony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarTony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
    Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
    Cc: "Frank Ch. Eigler" <fche@redhat.com>
    Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@polymtl.ca>
    Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
    Cc: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
    Cc: Jiaying Zhang <jiayingz@google.com>
    Cc: Michael Rubin <mrubin@google.com>
    Cc: Martin Bligh <mbligh@google.com>
    Cc: Michael Davidson <md@google.com>
    LKML-Reference: <20090408184058.GB6017@nowhere>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    47788c58
ftrace.h 14.1 KB