• Srikar Dronamraju's avatar
    tracing: Provide trace events interface for uprobes · f3f096cf
    Srikar Dronamraju authored
    
    
    Implements trace_event support for uprobes. In its current form
    it can be used to put probes at a specified offset in a file and
    dump the required registers when the code flow reaches the
    probed address.
    
    The following example shows how to dump the instruction pointer
    and %ax a register at the probed text address.  Here we are
    trying to probe zfree in /bin/zsh:
    
     # cd /sys/kernel/debug/tracing/
     # cat /proc/`pgrep  zsh`/maps | grep /bin/zsh | grep r-xp
     00400000-0048a000 r-xp 00000000 08:03 130904 /bin/zsh
     # objdump -T /bin/zsh | grep -w zfree
     0000000000446420 g    DF .text  0000000000000012  Base
     zfree # echo 'p /bin/zsh:0x46420 %ip %ax' > uprobe_events
     # cat uprobe_events
     p:uprobes/p_zsh_0x46420 /bin/zsh:0x0000000000046420
     # echo 1 > events/uprobes/enable
     # sleep 20
     # echo 0 > events/uprobes/enable
     # cat trace
     # tracer: nop
     #
     #           TASK-PID    CPU#    TIMESTAMP  FUNCTION
     #              | |       |          |         |
                  zsh-24842 [006] 258544.995456: p_zsh_0x46420: (0x446420) arg1=446421 arg2=79
                  zsh-24842 [007] 258545.000270: p_zsh_0x46420: (0x446420) arg1=446421 arg2=79
                  zsh-24842 [002] 258545.043929: p_zsh_0x46420: (0x446420) arg1=446421 arg2=79
                  zsh-24842 [004] 258547.046129: p_zsh_0x46420: (0x446420) arg1=446421 arg2=79
    Signed-off-by: default avatarSrikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
    Acked-by: default avatarMasami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>
    Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com>
    Cc: Jim Keniston <jkenisto@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Linux-mm <linux-mm@kvack.org>
    Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
    Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
    Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
    Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@infradead.org>
    Cc: Anton Arapov <anton@redhat.com>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120411103043.GB29437@linux.vnet.ibm.com
    
    Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
    f3f096cf
trace.h 24.2 KB