• Peter Zijlstra's avatar
    x86, perf, bts, mm: Delete the never used BTS-ptrace code · faa4602e
    Peter Zijlstra authored
    
    
    Support for the PMU's BTS features has been upstreamed in
    v2.6.32, but we still have the old and disabled ptrace-BTS,
    as Linus noticed it not so long ago.
    
    It's buggy: TIF_DEBUGCTLMSR is trampling all over that MSR without
    regard for other uses (perf) and doesn't provide the flexibility
    needed for perf either.
    
    Its users are ptrace-block-step and ptrace-bts, since ptrace-bts
    was never used and ptrace-block-step can be implemented using a
    much simpler approach.
    
    So axe all 3000 lines of it. That includes the *locked_memory*()
    APIs in mm/mlock.c as well.
    Reported-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
    Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
    Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
    Cc: Markus Metzger <markus.t.metzger@intel.com>
    Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
    Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    LKML-Reference: <20100325135413.938004390@chello.nl>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    faa4602e
ftrace.h 13.8 KB