Commit 25896d07 authored by Masahiro Yamada's avatar Masahiro Yamada Committed by Ingo Molnar

x86/build: Fix compiler support check for CONFIG_RETPOLINE

It is troublesome to add a diagnostic like this to the Makefile
parse stage because the top-level Makefile could be parsed with
a stale include/config/auto.conf.

Once you are hit by the error about non-retpoline compiler, the
compilation still breaks even after disabling CONFIG_RETPOLINE.

The easiest fix is to move this check to the "archprepare" like
this commit did:

  829fe4aa ("x86: Allow generating user-space headers without a compiler")
Reported-by: default avatarMeelis Roos <mroos@linux.ee>
Tested-by: default avatarMeelis Roos <mroos@linux.ee>
Signed-off-by: Masahiro Yamada's avatarMasahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
Acked-by: default avatarZhenzhong Duan <zhenzhong.duan@oracle.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Zhenzhong Duan <zhenzhong.duan@oracle.com>
Fixes: 4cd24de3 ("x86/retpoline: Make CONFIG_RETPOLINE depend on compiler support")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1543991239-18476-1-git-send-email-yamada.masahiro@socionext.com
Link: https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/12/4/206Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 182ddd16
......@@ -220,9 +220,6 @@ KBUILD_CFLAGS += -fno-asynchronous-unwind-tables
# Avoid indirect branches in kernel to deal with Spectre
ifdef CONFIG_RETPOLINE
ifeq ($(RETPOLINE_CFLAGS),)
$(error You are building kernel with non-retpoline compiler, please update your compiler.)
endif
KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(RETPOLINE_CFLAGS)
endif
......@@ -307,6 +304,13 @@ ifndef CC_HAVE_ASM_GOTO
@echo Compiler lacks asm-goto support.
@exit 1
endif
ifdef CONFIG_RETPOLINE
ifeq ($(RETPOLINE_CFLAGS),)
@echo "You are building kernel with non-retpoline compiler." >&2
@echo "Please update your compiler." >&2
@false
endif
endif
archclean:
$(Q)rm -rf $(objtree)/arch/i386
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment