Commit 38498a67 authored by Thomas Gleixner's avatar Thomas Gleixner

smp: Add generic smpboot facility

Start a new file, which will hold SMP and CPU hotplug related generic
infrastructure.
Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: James E.J. Bottomley <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120420124557.035417523@linutronix.de
parent 8239c25f
......@@ -43,6 +43,7 @@ obj-$(CONFIG_DEBUG_RT_MUTEXES) += rtmutex-debug.o
obj-$(CONFIG_RT_MUTEX_TESTER) += rtmutex-tester.o
obj-$(CONFIG_GENERIC_ISA_DMA) += dma.o
obj-$(CONFIG_SMP) += smp.o
obj-$(CONFIG_SMP) += smpboot.o
ifneq ($(CONFIG_SMP),y)
obj-y += up.o
endif
......
......@@ -17,6 +17,8 @@
#include <linux/gfp.h>
#include <linux/suspend.h>
#include "smpboot.h"
#ifdef CONFIG_SMP
/* Serializes the updates to cpu_online_mask, cpu_present_mask */
static DEFINE_MUTEX(cpu_add_remove_lock);
......@@ -300,6 +302,11 @@ static int __cpuinit _cpu_up(unsigned int cpu, int tasks_frozen)
return -EINVAL;
cpu_hotplug_begin();
ret = smpboot_prepare(cpu);
if (ret)
goto out;
ret = __cpu_notify(CPU_UP_PREPARE | mod, hcpu, -1, &nr_calls);
if (ret) {
nr_calls--;
......@@ -320,6 +327,7 @@ static int __cpuinit _cpu_up(unsigned int cpu, int tasks_frozen)
out_notify:
if (ret != 0)
__cpu_notify(CPU_UP_CANCELED | mod, hcpu, nr_calls, NULL);
out:
cpu_hotplug_done();
return ret;
......
/*
* Common SMP CPU bringup/teardown functions
*/
#include <linux/init.h>
#include "smpboot.h"
/**
* smpboot_prepare - generic smpboot preparation
*/
int __cpuinit smpboot_prepare(unsigned int cpu)
{
return 0;
}
#ifndef SMPBOOT_H
#define SMPBOOT_H
int smpboot_prepare(unsigned int cpu);
#endif
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment