Commit 59dbc2a4 authored by Dan Carpenter's avatar Dan Carpenter Committed by Greg Kroah-Hartman

perf/x86/intel: Don't accidentally clear high bits in bdw_limit_period()

commit e5ea9b54 upstream.

We intended to clear the lowest 6 bits but because of a type bug we
clear the high 32 bits as well.  Andi says that periods are rarely more
than U32_MAX so this bug probably doesn't have a huge runtime impact.
Signed-off-by: default avatarDan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Fixes: 294fe0f5 ("perf/x86/intel: Add INST_RETIRED.ALL workarounds")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180317115216.GB4035@mwandaSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
parent 227e2f91
......@@ -3194,7 +3194,7 @@ static unsigned bdw_limit_period(struct perf_event *event, unsigned left)
X86_CONFIG(.event=0xc0, .umask=0x01)) {
if (left < 128)
left = 128;
left &= ~0x3fu;
left &= ~0x3fULL;
}
return left;
}
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment