Commit 697f4d68 authored by Zach Brown's avatar Zach Brown Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm: remove old aio use_mm() comment



Bunch of performance improvements and cleanups Zach Brown and I have
been working on.  The code should be pretty solid at this point, though
it could of course use more review and testing.

The results in my testing are pretty impressive, particularly when an
ioctx is being shared between multiple threads.  In my crappy synthetic
benchmark, with 4 threads submitting and one thread reaping completions,
I saw overhead in the aio code go from ~50% (mostly ioctx lock
contention) to low single digits.  Performance with ioctx per thread
improved too, but I'd have to rerun those benchmarks.

The reason I've been focused on performance when the ioctx is shared is
that for a fair number of real world completions, userspace needs the
completions aggregated somehow - in practice people just end up
implementing this aggregation in userspace today, but if it's done right
we can do it much more efficiently in the kernel.

Performance wise, the end result of this patch series is that submitting
a kiocb writes to _no_ shared cachelines - the penalty for sharing an
ioctx is gone there.  There's still going to be some cacheline
contention when we deliver the completions to the aio ringbuffer (at
least if you have interrupts being delivered on multiple cores, which
for high end stuff you do) but I have a couple more patches not in this
series that implement coalescing for that (by taking advantage of
interrupt coalescing).  With that, there's basically no bottlenecks or
performance issues to speak of in the aio code.

This patch:

use_mm() is used in more places than just aio.  There's no need to mention
callers when describing the function.
Signed-off-by: default avatarZach Brown <zab@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarKent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com>
Cc: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>
Cc: Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: Asai Thambi S P <asamymuthupa@micron.com>
Cc: Selvan Mani <smani@micron.com>
Cc: Sam Bradshaw <sbradshaw@micron.com>
Acked-by: default avatarJeff Moyer <jmoyer@redhat.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Benjamin LaHaise <bcrl@kvack.org>
Reviewed-by: default avatar"Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent c9fcee51
......@@ -14,9 +14,6 @@
* use_mm
* Makes the calling kernel thread take on the specified
* mm context.
* Called by the retry thread execute retries within the
* iocb issuer's mm context, so that copy_from/to_user
* operations work seamlessly for aio.
* (Note: this routine is intended to be called only
* from a kernel thread context)
*/
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment