Commit 7f612a7f authored by Peter Zijlstra (Intel)'s avatar Peter Zijlstra (Intel) Committed by Ingo Molnar

perf/x86: Fix full width counter, counter overflow

Lukasz reported that perf stat counters overflow handling is broken on KNL/SLM.

Both these parts have full_width_write set, and that does indeed have
a problem. In order to deal with counter wrap, we must sample the
counter at at least half the counter period (see also the sampling
theorem) such that we can unambiguously reconstruct the count.

However commit:

  069e0c3c ("perf/x86/intel: Support full width counting")

sets the sampling interval to the full period, not half.

Fixing that exposes another issue, in that we must not sign extend the
delta value when we shift it right; the counter cannot have
decremented after all.

With both these issues fixed, counter overflow functions correctly
again.
Reported-by: default avatarLukasz Odzioba <lukasz.odzioba@intel.com>
Tested-by: default avatarLiang, Kan <kan.liang@intel.com>
Tested-by: default avatarOdzioba, Lukasz <lukasz.odzioba@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Fixes: 069e0c3c ("perf/x86/intel: Support full width counting")
Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 1dba23b1
......@@ -69,7 +69,7 @@ u64 x86_perf_event_update(struct perf_event *event)
int shift = 64 - x86_pmu.cntval_bits;
u64 prev_raw_count, new_raw_count;
int idx = hwc->idx;
s64 delta;
u64 delta;
if (idx == INTEL_PMC_IDX_FIXED_BTS)
return 0;
......
......@@ -4034,7 +4034,7 @@ __init int intel_pmu_init(void)
/* Support full width counters using alternative MSR range */
if (x86_pmu.intel_cap.full_width_write) {
x86_pmu.max_period = x86_pmu.cntval_mask;
x86_pmu.max_period = x86_pmu.cntval_mask >> 1;
x86_pmu.perfctr = MSR_IA32_PMC0;
pr_cont("full-width counters, ");
}
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment