Commit 82d71ed0 authored by Kan Liang's avatar Kan Liang Committed by Ingo Molnar

perf/x86/intel: Properly save/restore the PMU state in the NMI handler

The PMU is disabled in intel_pmu_handle_irq(), but cpuc->enabled is not updated
accordingly.

This is fine in current usage because no-one checks it - but fix it
for future code: for example, the drain_pebs() will be modified to
fix an auto-reload bug.

Properly save/restore the old PMU state.
Signed-off-by: default avatarKan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Cc: acme@kernel.org
Cc: kernel test robot <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/6f44ee84-56f8-79f1-559b-08e371eaeb78@linux.intel.comSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent f605cfca
......@@ -2201,9 +2201,15 @@ static int intel_pmu_handle_irq(struct pt_regs *regs)
int bit, loops;
u64 status;
int handled;
int pmu_enabled;
cpuc = this_cpu_ptr(&cpu_hw_events);
/*
* Save the PMU state.
* It needs to be restored when leaving the handler.
*/
pmu_enabled = cpuc->enabled;
/*
* No known reason to not always do late ACK,
* but just in case do it opt-in.
......@@ -2211,6 +2217,7 @@ static int intel_pmu_handle_irq(struct pt_regs *regs)
if (!x86_pmu.late_ack)
apic_write(APIC_LVTPC, APIC_DM_NMI);
intel_bts_disable_local();
cpuc->enabled = 0;
__intel_pmu_disable_all();
handled = intel_pmu_drain_bts_buffer();
handled += intel_bts_interrupt();
......@@ -2320,7 +2327,8 @@ static int intel_pmu_handle_irq(struct pt_regs *regs)
done:
/* Only restore PMU state when it's active. See x86_pmu_disable(). */
if (cpuc->enabled)
cpuc->enabled = pmu_enabled;
if (pmu_enabled)
__intel_pmu_enable_all(0, true);
intel_bts_enable_local();
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment