Commit 8d53fa19 authored by Peter Zijlstra's avatar Peter Zijlstra Committed by Ingo Molnar
Browse files

locking/qspinlock: Clarify xchg_tail() ordering



While going over the code I noticed that xchg_tail() is a RELEASE but
had no obvious pairing commented.

It pairs with a somewhat unique address dependency through
decode_tail().

So the store-release of xchg_tail() is paired by the address
dependency of the load of xchg_tail followed by the dereference from
the pointer computed from that load.

The @old -> @prev transformation itself is pure, and therefore does
not depend on external state, so that is immaterial wrt. ordering.
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Pan Xinhui <xinhui.pan@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Waiman Long <waiman.long@hpe.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent ae0b5c2f
......@@ -90,7 +90,7 @@ static DEFINE_PER_CPU_ALIGNED(struct mcs_spinlock, mcs_nodes[MAX_NODES]);
* therefore increment the cpu number by one.
*/
static inline u32 encode_tail(int cpu, int idx)
static inline __pure u32 encode_tail(int cpu, int idx)
{
u32 tail;
......@@ -103,7 +103,7 @@ static inline u32 encode_tail(int cpu, int idx)
return tail;
}
static inline struct mcs_spinlock *decode_tail(u32 tail)
static inline __pure struct mcs_spinlock *decode_tail(u32 tail)
{
int cpu = (tail >> _Q_TAIL_CPU_OFFSET) - 1;
int idx = (tail & _Q_TAIL_IDX_MASK) >> _Q_TAIL_IDX_OFFSET;
......@@ -455,6 +455,8 @@ void queued_spin_lock_slowpath(struct qspinlock *lock, u32 val)
* pending stuff.
*
* p,*,* -> n,*,*
*
* RELEASE, such that the stores to @node must be complete.
*/
old = xchg_tail(lock, tail);
next = NULL;
......@@ -465,6 +467,15 @@ void queued_spin_lock_slowpath(struct qspinlock *lock, u32 val)
*/
if (old & _Q_TAIL_MASK) {
prev = decode_tail(old);
/*
* The above xchg_tail() is also a load of @lock which generates,
* through decode_tail(), a pointer.
*
* The address dependency matches the RELEASE of xchg_tail()
* such that the access to @prev must happen after.
*/
smp_read_barrier_depends();
WRITE_ONCE(prev->next, node);
pv_wait_node(node, prev);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment