Commit a0c4acd2 authored by Kirill Tkhai's avatar Kirill Tkhai Committed by Ingo Molnar
Browse files

locking/rwsem-spinlock: Fix EINTR branch in __down_write_common()



If a writer could been woken up, the above branch

	if (sem->count == 0)
		break;

would have moved us to taking the sem. So, it's
not the time to wake a writer now, and only readers
are allowed now. Thus, 0 must be passed to __rwsem_do_wake().

Next, __rwsem_do_wake() wakes readers unconditionally.
But we mustn't do that if the sem is owned by writer
in the moment. Otherwise, writer and reader own the sem
the same time, which leads to memory corruption in
callers.

rwsem-xadd.c does not need that, as:

  1) the similar check is made lockless there,
  2) in __rwsem_mark_wake::try_reader_grant we test,

that sem is not owned by writer.
Signed-off-by: default avatarKirill Tkhai <ktkhai@virtuozzo.com>
Acked-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Niklas Cassel <niklas.cassel@axis.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Fixes: 17fcbd59 "locking/rwsem: Fix down_write_killable() for CONFIG_RWSEM_GENERIC_SPINLOCK=y"
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/149762063282.19811.9129615532201147826.stgit@localhost.localdomain

Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 4422d80e
......@@ -231,8 +231,8 @@ int __sched __down_write_common(struct rw_semaphore *sem, int state)
out_nolock:
list_del(&waiter.list);
if (!list_empty(&sem->wait_list))
__rwsem_do_wake(sem, 1);
if (!list_empty(&sem->wait_list) && sem->count >= 0)
__rwsem_do_wake(sem, 0);
raw_spin_unlock_irqrestore(&sem->wait_lock, flags);
return -EINTR;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment