1. 21 Feb, 2012 9 commits
  2. 17 Feb, 2012 2 commits
  3. 14 Feb, 2012 15 commits
  4. 13 Feb, 2012 8 commits
  5. 11 Feb, 2012 4 commits
  6. 09 Feb, 2012 2 commits
    • David Ahern's avatar
      perf record: No build id option fails · d3665498
      David Ahern authored
      A recent refactoring of perf-record introduced the following:
      
      perf record -a -B
      Couldn't generating buildids. Use --no-buildid to profile anyway.
      sleep: Terminated
      
      I believe the triple negative was meant to be only a double negative.
      :-) While I'm there, fixed the grammar on the error message.
      
      Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1328567272-13190-1-git-send-email-dsahern@gmail.com
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
      d3665498
    • Stephane Eranian's avatar
      perf tools: fix endianness detection in perf.data · 73323f54
      Stephane Eranian authored
      
      
      The current version of perf detects whether or not the perf.data file is
      written in a different endianness using the attr_size field in the
      header of the file. This field represents sizeof(struct perf_event_attr)
      as known to perf record. If the sizes do not match, then perf tries the
      byte-swapped version. If they match, then the tool assumes a different
      endianness.
      
      The issue with the approach is that it assumes the size of
      perf_event_attr always has to match between perf record and perf report.
      However, the kernel perf_event ABI is extensible.  New fields can be
      added to struct perf_event_attr. Consequently, it is not possible to use
      attr_size to detect endianness.
      
      This patch takes another approach by using the magic number written at
      the beginning of the perf.data file to detect endianness. The magic
      number is an eight-byte signature.  It's primary purpose is to identify
      (signature) a perf.data file. But it could also be used to encode the
      endianness.
      
      The patch introduces a new value for this signature. The key difference
      is that the signature is written differently in the file depending on
      the endianness. Thus, by comparing the signature from the file with the
      tool's own signature it is possible to detect endianness. The new
      signature is "PERFILE2".
      
      Backward compatiblity with existing perf.data file is ensured.
      Tested-by: default avatarDavid Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarDavid Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
      Cc: Anshuman Khandual <khandual@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Arun Sharma <asharma@fb.com>
      Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Cc: Lin Ming <ming.m.lin@intel.com>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Roberto Agostino Vitillo <ravitillo@lbl.gov>
      Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
      Cc: Vince Weaver <vweaver1@eecs.utk.edu>
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1328187288-24395-15-git-send-email-eranian@google.com
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarStephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
      73323f54