• Christoph Hellwig's avatar
    dma-mapping: consolidate dma_{alloc,free}_{attrs,coherent} · 6894258e
    Christoph Hellwig authored
    
    
    Since 2009 we have a nice asm-generic header implementing lots of DMA API
    functions for architectures using struct dma_map_ops, but unfortunately
    it's still missing a lot of APIs that all architectures still have to
    duplicate.
    
    This series consolidates the remaining functions, although we still need
    arch opt outs for two of them as a few architectures have very
    non-standard implementations.
    
    This patch (of 5):
    
    The coherent DMA allocator works the same over all architectures supporting
    dma_map operations.
    
    This patch consolidates them and converges the minor differences:
    
     - the debug_dma helpers are now called from all architectures, including
       those that were previously missing them
     - dma_alloc_from_coherent and dma_release_from_coherent are now always
       called from the generic alloc/free routines instead of the ops
       dma-mapping-common.h always includes dma-coherent.h to get the defintions
       for them, or the stubs if the architecture doesn't support this feature
     - checks for ->alloc / ->free presence are removed.  There is only one
       magic instead of dma_map_ops without them (mic_dma_ops) and that one
       is x86 only anyway.
    
    Besides that only x86 needs special treatment to replace a default devices
    if none is passed and tweak the gfp_flags.  An optional arch hook is provided
    for that.
    
    [linux@roeck-us.net: fix build]
    [jcmvbkbc@gmail.com: fix xtensa]
    Signed-off-by: default avatarChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
    Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
    Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
    Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
    Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
    Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
    Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
    Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
    Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@ezchip.com>
    Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
    Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarGuenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarMax Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    6894258e