• Oleg Nesterov's avatar
    coredump: sanitize the setting of signal->group_exit_code · acdedd99
    Oleg Nesterov authored
    
    
    Now that the coredumping process can be SIGKILL'ed, the setting of
    ->group_exit_code in do_coredump() can race with complete_signal() and
    SIGKILL or 0x80 can be "lost", or wait(status) can report status ==
    SIGKILL | 0x80.
    
    But the main problem is that it is not clear to me what should we do if
    binfmt->core_dump() succeeds but SIGKILL was sent, that is why this patch
    comes as a separate change.
    
    This patch adds 0x80 if ->core_dump() succeeds and the process was not
    killed.  But perhaps we can (should?) re-set ->group_exit_code changed by
    SIGKILL back to "siginfo->si_signo |= 0x80" in case when core_dumped == T.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
    Tested-by: default avatarMandeep Singh Baines <msb@chromium.org>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
    Cc: Neil Horman <nhorman@redhat.com>
    Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
    Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@hack.frob.com>
    Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
    Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    acdedd99
coredump.c 16.9 KB