• Christoph Hellwig's avatar
    improve sys_newuname() for compat architectures · e28cbf22
    Christoph Hellwig authored
    
    
    On an architecture that supports 32-bit compat we need to override the
    reported machine in uname with the 32-bit value.  Instead of doing this
    separately in every architecture introduce a COMPAT_UTS_MACHINE define in
    <asm/compat.h> and apply it directly in sys_newuname().
    Signed-off-by: default avatarChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
    Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
    Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
    Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
    Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
    Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
    Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
    Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
    Cc: Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    e28cbf22