• Roman Zippel's avatar
    rename thread_info to stack · f7e4217b
    Roman Zippel authored
    
    
    This finally renames the thread_info field in task structure to stack, so that
    the assumptions about this field are gone and archs have more freedom about
    placing the thread_info structure.
    
    Nonbroken archs which have a proper thread pointer can do the access to both
    current thread and task structure via a single pointer.
    
    It'll allow for a few more cleanups of the fork code, from which e.g.  ia64
    could benefit.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarRoman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
    [akpm@linux-foundation.org: build fix]
    Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
    Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
    Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
    Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
    Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>
    Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
    Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
    Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
    Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
    Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
    Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
    Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
    Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
    Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
    Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp>
    Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk>
    Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com>
    Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
    Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
    Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it>
    Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp>
    Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de>
    Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    f7e4217b
asm-offsets.c 1.86 KB