Commit 1ac0cb5d authored by Hugh Dickins's avatar Hugh Dickins Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm: fix anonymous dirtying



do_anonymous_page() has been wrong to dirty the pte regardless.
If it's not going to mark the pte writable, then it won't help
to mark it dirty here, and clogs up memory with pages which will
need swap instead of being thrown away.  Especially wrong if no
overcommit is chosen, and this vma is not yet VM_ACCOUNTed -
we could exceed the limit and OOM despite no overcommit.
Signed-off-by: default avatarHugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Acked-by: default avatarRik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 2a15efc9
......@@ -2653,7 +2653,8 @@ static int do_anonymous_page(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
goto oom_free_page;
entry = mk_pte(page, vma->vm_page_prot);
entry = maybe_mkwrite(pte_mkdirty(entry), vma);
if (vma->vm_flags & VM_WRITE)
entry = pte_mkwrite(pte_mkdirty(entry));
page_table = pte_offset_map_lock(mm, pmd, address, &ptl);
if (!pte_none(*page_table))
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment