Commit 74545f63 authored by David Carrillo-Cisneros's avatar David Carrillo-Cisneros Committed by Ingo Molnar
Browse files

perf/x86: Set pmu->module in Intel PMU modules



The conversion of Intel PMU drivers into modules did not include reference
counting. The machine will crash when attempting to  access deleted code
if an event from a module PMU is started and the module removed before the
event is destroyed.

i.e. this crashes the machine:

	$ insmod intel-rapl-perf.ko
	$ perf stat -e power/energy-cores/ -C 0 &
	$ rmmod intel-rapl-perf.ko

Set THIS_MODULE to pmu->module in Intel module PMUs so that generic code
can handle reference counting and deny rmmod while an event still exists.
Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Carrillo-Cisneros <davidcc@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Srinivas Pandruvada <srinivas.pandruvada@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1482455860-116269-1-git-send-email-davidcc@google.com

Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 4e06d4f0
......@@ -434,6 +434,7 @@ static struct pmu cstate_core_pmu = {
.stop = cstate_pmu_event_stop,
.read = cstate_pmu_event_update,
.capabilities = PERF_PMU_CAP_NO_INTERRUPT,
.module = THIS_MODULE,
};
static struct pmu cstate_pkg_pmu = {
......@@ -447,6 +448,7 @@ static struct pmu cstate_pkg_pmu = {
.stop = cstate_pmu_event_stop,
.read = cstate_pmu_event_update,
.capabilities = PERF_PMU_CAP_NO_INTERRUPT,
.module = THIS_MODULE,
};
static const struct cstate_model nhm_cstates __initconst = {
......
......@@ -697,6 +697,7 @@ static int __init init_rapl_pmus(void)
rapl_pmus->pmu.start = rapl_pmu_event_start;
rapl_pmus->pmu.stop = rapl_pmu_event_stop;
rapl_pmus->pmu.read = rapl_pmu_event_read;
rapl_pmus->pmu.module = THIS_MODULE;
return 0;
}
......
......@@ -733,6 +733,7 @@ static int uncore_pmu_register(struct intel_uncore_pmu *pmu)
.start = uncore_pmu_event_start,
.stop = uncore_pmu_event_stop,
.read = uncore_pmu_event_read,
.module = THIS_MODULE,
};
} else {
pmu->pmu = *pmu->type->pmu;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment