Commit d395b734 authored by Mel Gorman's avatar Mel Gorman Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

page allocator: do not setup zonelist cache when there is only one node



There is a zonelist cache which is used to track zones that are not in the
allowed cpuset or found to be recently full.  This is to reduce cache
footprint on large machines.  On smaller machines, it just incurs cost for
no gain.  This patch only uses the zonelist cache when there are NUMA
nodes.
Signed-off-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Reviewed-by: default avatarChristoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent da456f14
......@@ -1464,8 +1464,11 @@ this_zone_full:
if (NUMA_BUILD)
zlc_mark_zone_full(zonelist, z);
try_next_zone:
if (NUMA_BUILD && !did_zlc_setup) {
/* we do zlc_setup after the first zone is tried */
if (NUMA_BUILD && !did_zlc_setup && num_online_nodes() > 1) {
/*
* we do zlc_setup after the first zone is tried but only
* if there are multiple nodes make it worthwhile
*/
allowednodes = zlc_setup(zonelist, alloc_flags);
zlc_active = 1;
did_zlc_setup = 1;
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment