1. 09 Dec, 2009 1 commit
  2. 29 Oct, 2009 1 commit
  3. 28 Sep, 2009 1 commit
  4. 22 Sep, 2009 1 commit
  5. 07 Apr, 2009 1 commit
  6. 17 Jun, 2008 4 commits
  7. 01 Apr, 2008 1 commit
  8. 28 Jan, 2008 2 commits
  9. 27 Nov, 2007 1 commit
  10. 26 Apr, 2007 1 commit
    • Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo's avatar
      [SK_BUFF]: Convert skb->tail to sk_buff_data_t · 27a884dc
      Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo authored
      
      
      So that it is also an offset from skb->head, reduces its size from 8 to 4 bytes
      on 64bit architectures, allowing us to combine the 4 bytes hole left by the
      layer headers conversion, reducing struct sk_buff size to 256 bytes, i.e. 4
      64byte cachelines, and since the sk_buff slab cache is SLAB_HWCACHE_ALIGN...
      :-)
      
      Many calculations that previously required that skb->{transport,network,
      mac}_header be first converted to a pointer now can be done directly, being
      meaningful as offsets or pointers.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      27a884dc
  11. 17 Feb, 2007 1 commit
  12. 13 Dec, 2006 1 commit
    • Robert P. J. Day's avatar
      [PATCH] getting rid of all casts of k[cmz]alloc() calls · 5cbded58
      Robert P. J. Day authored
      
      
      Run this:
      
      	#!/bin/sh
      	for f in $(grep -Erl "\([^\)]*\) *k[cmz]alloc" *) ; do
      	  echo "De-casting $f..."
      	  perl -pi -e "s/ ?= ?\([^\)]*\) *(k[cmz]alloc) *\(/ = \1\(/" $f
      	done
      
      And then go through and reinstate those cases where code is casting pointers
      to non-pointers.
      
      And then drop a few hunks which conflicted with outstanding work.
      
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>, Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
      Cc: Paul Fulghum <paulkf@microgate.com>
      Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
      Cc: Karsten Keil <kkeil@suse.de>
      Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
      Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
      Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com>
      Cc: Ian Kent <raven@themaw.net>
      Cc: Steven French <sfrench@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@cse.unsw.edu.au>
      Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@suse.cz>
      Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      5cbded58
  13. 07 Dec, 2006 3 commits
  14. 05 Oct, 2006 1 commit
    • David Howells's avatar
      IRQ: Maintain regs pointer globally rather than passing to IRQ handlers · 7d12e780
      David Howells authored
      
      
      Maintain a per-CPU global "struct pt_regs *" variable which can be used instead
      of passing regs around manually through all ~1800 interrupt handlers in the
      Linux kernel.
      
      The regs pointer is used in few places, but it potentially costs both stack
      space and code to pass it around.  On the FRV arch, removing the regs parameter
      from all the genirq function results in a 20% speed up of the IRQ exit path
      (ie: from leaving timer_interrupt() to leaving do_IRQ()).
      
      Where appropriate, an arch may override the generic storage facility and do
      something different with the variable.  On FRV, for instance, the address is
      maintained in GR28 at all times inside the kernel as part of general exception
      handling.
      
      Having looked over the code, it appears that the parameter may be handed down
      through up to twenty or so layers of functions.  Consider a USB character
      device attached to a USB hub, attached to a USB controller that posts its
      interrupts through a cascaded auxiliary interrupt controller.  A character
      device driver may want to pass regs to the sysrq handler through the input
      layer which adds another few layers of parameter passing.
      
      I've build this code with allyesconfig for x86_64 and i386.  I've runtested the
      main part of the code on FRV and i386, though I can't test most of the drivers.
      I've also done partial conversion for powerpc and MIPS - these at least compile
      with minimal configurations.
      
      This will affect all archs.  Mostly the changes should be relatively easy.
      Take do_IRQ(), store the regs pointer at the beginning, saving the old one:
      
      	struct pt_regs *old_regs = set_irq_regs(regs);
      
      And put the old one back at the end:
      
      	set_irq_regs(old_regs);
      
      Don't pass regs through to generic_handle_irq() or __do_IRQ().
      
      In timer_interrupt(), this sort of change will be necessary:
      
      	-	update_process_times(user_mode(regs));
      	-	profile_tick(CPU_PROFILING, regs);
      	+	update_process_times(user_mode(get_irq_regs()));
      	+	profile_tick(CPU_PROFILING);
      
      I'd like to move update_process_times()'s use of get_irq_regs() into itself,
      except that i386, alone of the archs, uses something other than user_mode().
      
      Some notes on the interrupt handling in the drivers:
      
       (*) input_dev() is now gone entirely.  The regs pointer is no longer stored in
           the input_dev struct.
      
       (*) finish_unlinks() in drivers/usb/host/ohci-q.c needs checking.  It does
           something different depending on whether it's been supplied with a regs
           pointer or not.
      
       (*) Various IRQ handler function pointers have been moved to type
           irq_handler_t.
      Signed-Off-By: default avatarDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      (cherry picked from 1b16e7ac850969f38b375e511e3fa2f474a33867 commit)
      7d12e780
  15. 04 Oct, 2006 1 commit
  16. 25 Sep, 2006 1 commit
  17. 22 Sep, 2006 1 commit
  18. 19 Sep, 2006 1 commit
  19. 18 Sep, 2006 1 commit
  20. 02 Jul, 2006 1 commit
  21. 30 Jun, 2006 1 commit
  22. 29 Jun, 2006 1 commit
  23. 29 Aug, 2005 1 commit
  24. 19 Jul, 2005 1 commit
  25. 02 Jun, 2005 1 commit
  26. 25 Apr, 2005 1 commit
  27. 16 Apr, 2005 1 commit
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Linux-2.6.12-rc2 · 1da177e4
      Linus Torvalds authored
      Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history,
      even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git
      archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about
      3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early
      git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good
      infrastructure for it.
      
      Let it rip!
      1da177e4