1. 17 Jul, 2007 2 commits
  2. 16 Jul, 2007 1 commit
    • Heiko Carstens's avatar
      generic bug: use show_regs() instead of dump_stack() · 608e2619
      Heiko Carstens authored
      
      
      The current generic bug implementation has a call to dump_stack() in case a
      WARN_ON(whatever) gets hit.  Since report_bug(), which calls dump_stack(),
      gets called from an exception handler we can do better: just pass the
      pt_regs structure to report_bug() and pass it to show_regs() in case of a
      warning.  This will give more debug informations like register contents,
      etc...  In addition this avoids some pointless lines that dump_stack()
      emits, since it includes a stack backtrace of the exception handler which
      is of no interest in case of a warning.  E.g.  on s390 the following lines
      are currently always present in a stack backtrace if dump_stack() gets
      called from report_bug():
      
       [<000000000001517a>] show_trace+0x92/0xe8)
       [<0000000000015270>] show_stack+0xa0/0xd0
       [<00000000000152ce>] dump_stack+0x2e/0x3c
       [<0000000000195450>] report_bug+0x98/0xf8
       [<0000000000016cc8>] illegal_op+0x1fc/0x21c
       [<00000000000227d6>] sysc_return+0x0/0x10
      Acked-by: default avatarJeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
      Acked-by: default avatarHaavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@parisc-linux.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarHeiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      608e2619
  3. 15 Jul, 2007 1 commit
  4. 11 Jul, 2007 1 commit
    • Tejun Heo's avatar
      sysfs: kill unnecessary attribute->owner · 7b595756
      Tejun Heo authored
      sysfs is now completely out of driver/module lifetime game.  After
      deletion, a sysfs node doesn't access anything outside sysfs proper,
      so there's no reason to hold onto the attribute owners.  Note that
      often the wrong modules were accounted for as owners leading to
      accessing removed modules.
      
      This patch kills now unnecessary attribute->owner.  Note that with
      this change, userland holding a sysfs node does not prevent the
      backing module from being unloaded.
      
      For more info regarding lifetime rule cleanup, please read the
      following message.
      
        http://article.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/510293
      
      
      
      (tweaked by Greg to not delete the field just yet, to make it easier to
      merge things properly.)
      Signed-off-by: default avatarTejun Heo <htejun@gmail.com>
      Cc: Cornelia Huck <cornelia.huck@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
      7b595756
  5. 10 Jul, 2007 5 commits
  6. 19 Jun, 2007 4 commits
  7. 31 May, 2007 2 commits
  8. 21 May, 2007 3 commits
  9. 19 May, 2007 2 commits
  10. 11 May, 2007 2 commits
  11. 10 May, 2007 1 commit
  12. 09 May, 2007 2 commits
    • Roman Zippel's avatar
      rename thread_info to stack · f7e4217b
      Roman Zippel authored
      
      
      This finally renames the thread_info field in task structure to stack, so that
      the assumptions about this field are gone and archs have more freedom about
      placing the thread_info structure.
      
      Nonbroken archs which have a proper thread pointer can do the access to both
      current thread and task structure via a single pointer.
      
      It'll allow for a few more cleanups of the fork code, from which e.g.  ia64
      could benefit.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRoman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: build fix]
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp>
      Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk>
      Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it>
      Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      f7e4217b
    • Rafael J. Wysocki's avatar
      Add suspend-related notifications for CPU hotplug · 8bb78442
      Rafael J. Wysocki authored
      
      
      Since nonboot CPUs are now disabled after tasks and devices have been
      frozen and the CPU hotplug infrastructure is used for this purpose, we need
      special CPU hotplug notifications that will help the CPU-hotplug-aware
      subsystems distinguish normal CPU hotplug events from CPU hotplug events
      related to a system-wide suspend or resume operation in progress.  This
      patch introduces such notifications and causes them to be used during
      suspend and resume transitions.  It also changes all of the
      CPU-hotplug-aware subsystems to take these notifications into consideration
      (for now they are handled in the same way as the corresponding "normal"
      ones).
      
      [oleg@tv-sign.ru: cleanups]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
      Cc: Gautham R Shenoy <ego@in.ibm.com>
      Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarOleg Nesterov <oleg@tv-sign.ru>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      8bb78442
  13. 08 May, 2007 7 commits
  14. 04 May, 2007 3 commits
  15. 03 May, 2007 1 commit
  16. 02 May, 2007 1 commit
  17. 27 Apr, 2007 2 commits