1. 28 Jan, 2008 11 commits
  2. 19 Nov, 2007 2 commits
    • Paul Mundt's avatar
      sh: lockless UTLB miss fast-path. · 0f1a394b
      Paul Mundt authored
      
      
      With the refactored update_mmu_cache() introduced in older kernels,
      there's no longer any need to take the page_table_lock in this path,
      so simply drop it completely.
      
      Without this, performance degradation is seen on SMP on heavily
      threaded workloads that don't use the split ptlock, and ultimately
      we have no reason to contend for the lock in the first place.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPaul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      0f1a394b
    • Paul Mundt's avatar
      sh: Kill off UTLB flush in fast-path. · 1c6b2ca5
      Paul Mundt authored
      
      
      The __do_page_fault() fast-path contains a UTLB flush in order to
      force an ITLB reload, this isn't needed in practice as the ITLB is
      auto-reloaded from the UTLB anyways, which is already displaced by
      the manual 'ldtlb' in the update_mmu_cache() path.
      
      This provides a measurable speed up in the TLB miss fast-path.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarPaul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      1c6b2ca5
  3. 07 Nov, 2007 5 commits
  4. 02 Nov, 2007 1 commit
  5. 19 Oct, 2007 1 commit
    • Serge E. Hallyn's avatar
      pid namespaces: define is_global_init() and is_container_init() · b460cbc5
      Serge E. Hallyn authored
      
      
      is_init() is an ambiguous name for the pid==1 check.  Split it into
      is_global_init() and is_container_init().
      
      A cgroup init has it's tsk->pid == 1.
      
      A global init also has it's tsk->pid == 1 and it's active pid namespace
      is the init_pid_ns.  But rather than check the active pid namespace,
      compare the task structure with 'init_pid_ns.child_reaper', which is
      initialized during boot to the /sbin/init process and never changes.
      
      Changelog:
      
      	2.6.22-rc4-mm2-pidns1:
      	- Use 'init_pid_ns.child_reaper' to determine if a given task is the
      	  global init (/sbin/init) process. This would improve performance
      	  and remove dependence on the task_pid().
      
      	2.6.21-mm2-pidns2:
      
      	- [Sukadev Bhattiprolu] Changed is_container_init() calls in {powerpc,
      	  ppc,avr32}/traps.c for the _exception() call to is_global_init().
      	  This way, we kill only the cgroup if the cgroup's init has a
      	  bug rather than force a kernel panic.
      
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix comment]
      [sukadev@us.ibm.com: Use is_global_init() in arch/m32r/mm/fault.c]
      [bunk@stusta.de: kernel/pid.c: remove unused exports]
      [sukadev@us.ibm.com: Fix capability.c to work with threaded init]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSerge E. Hallyn <serue@us.ibm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@us.ibm.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarPavel Emelianov <xemul@openvz.org>
      Cc: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
      Cc: Cedric Le Goater <clg@fr.ibm.com>
      Cc: Dave Hansen <haveblue@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: Herbert Poetzel <herbert@13thfloor.at>
      Cc: Kirill Korotaev <dev@sw.ru>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      b460cbc5
  6. 17 Oct, 2007 2 commits
  7. 16 Oct, 2007 2 commits
    • KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki's avatar
      fix memory hot remove not configured case. · 48e94196
      KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki authored
      
      
      Now, arch dependent code around CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTREMOVE is a mess.
      This patch cleans up them. This is against 2.6.23-rc6-mm1.
      
       - fix compile failure on ia64/ CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG && !CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTREMOVE case.
       - For !CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTREMOVE, add generic no-op remove_memory(),
         which returns -EINVAL.
       - removed remove_pages() only used in powerpc.
       - removed no-op remove_memory() in i386, sh, sparc64, x86_64.
      
       - only powerpc returns -ENOSYS at memory hot remove(no-op). changes it
         to return -EINVAL.
      
      Note:
      Currently, only ia64 supports CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTREMOVE. I welcome other
      archs if there are requirements and testers.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      48e94196
    • Will Schmidt's avatar
      During VM oom condition, kill all threads in process group · dcca2bde
      Will Schmidt authored
      
      
      We have had complaints where a threaded application is left in a bad state
      after one of it's threads is killed when we hit a VM: out_of_memory
      condition.
      
      Killing just one of the process threads can leave the application in a bad
      state, whereas killing the entire process group would allow for the
      application to restart, or be otherwise handled, and makes it very obvious
      that something has gone wrong.
      
      This change allows the entire process group to be taken down, rather
      than just the one thread.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Schmidt <will_schmidt@vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
      Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@debian.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp>
      Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk>
      Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      dcca2bde
  8. 28 Sep, 2007 1 commit
  9. 27 Sep, 2007 3 commits
  10. 24 Sep, 2007 4 commits
  11. 21 Sep, 2007 8 commits