• Jan Beulich's avatar
    memory hotplug: fix updating of num_physpages for hot plugged memory · 4738e1b9
    Jan Beulich authored
    
    
    Sizing of memory allocations shouldn't depend on the number of physical
    pages found in a system, as that generally includes (perhaps a huge amount
    of) non-RAM pages.  The amount of what actually is usable as storage
    should instead be used as a basis here.
    
    In line with that, the memory hotplug code should update num_physpages in
    a way that it retains its original (post-boot) meaning; in particular,
    decreasing the value should at best be done with great care - this patch
    doesn't try to ever decrease this value at all as it doesn't really seem
    meaningful to do so.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarJan Beulich <jbeulich@novell.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarRusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
    Cc: Yasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com>
    Cc: Badari Pulavarty <pbadari@us.ibm.com>
    Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
    Cc: Dave Hansen <haveblue@us.ibm.com>
    Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    4738e1b9